Armação dos Búzios, often referred to as just Búzios, is a resort town located Just 105 miles from Rio de janeiro, a pleasant 2-hours trip takes you to the peninsula of Buzios, whose more than 20 magnificent beaches and crystal clear water contrast with the exuberantly sculptured landscape and exotic vegetation, witch a prodigal “Mother Nature” has privileged with wonderful year round summer.
Originally settled by European pirates and slave traders, this happy mixture of many bloods prospered and become a picturesque fishing village, elected one of the 10 most beautiful areas of the world, famous for its unique combination of rustic charm, architectural harmony, incredible beauty and sophisticated boutiques and restaurants frequented by discerning visitors who come from all over the world to savour its magic.
French played a significant part in its history. It was French pirates who in the mid 1500′s made great friends with the local Tamoio Indians and harvested Brazilwood to take back with them to France. But didn’t the Portuguese discover Brazil ? Yes, but because of the nooks and crannies of the Buzios Peninsula, the French were able to work with little hinderance from the Portuguese.It lasted only twenty years until finally the Portuguese had enough. In 1575, the whole area was cleansed of the Tamoio and the French. Portugal’s D. Antônio Salema, the newly. appointed Governor of Rio de Janeiro, massacred the tribe of Tamoios and expelled the French. Some of Tamoios escaped and again formed friendships again with the French, who were back to smuggling Brazilwood. It wasn’t until 1615 that the Portuguese rid Búzios of the French.
The Bardot Cove is lined with stores, restaurants, and a few hotels. It’s a nice walk at any time of day, starting from the town pier and heading east toward Praia da Armação. You’ll note the schooners anchored here, and the tiny colorful fishing boats bobbing along the curve of the bay.
But the best time to visit the Orla Bardot is near sunset. The sea is a cobalt blue. The sky in all shades of yellow, orange and red. As you take it in, small boats make anchor as the daylight comes to an end.
A glance at Brigitte, and she’s still sitting – looking out in awe. And with a sunset in Búzios, it’s little wonder.
it was a tiny fishing village with few homes when again in 1964, the French paid a visit. Actress Brigitte Bardot, near the prime of her career, arrived in Rio in January of 1964, to enjoy time with her Brazilian boyfriend Bob Zagury.The plan was to let Zagury’s friend, French photographer Denis Albanèse, who had been living in Rio for about ten years, journal Bardot’s vacation in Brazil and simply share the photos with the press if they agreed not to hound her.
A thrilled Bardot was able to venture out in Rio, incogneto, wearing a coat and black wig. But days later, boarded Zagury’s yacht to beautiful Angra do Reis and eventually north to Búzios. No need to travel in disguise, Brigitte Bardot walked the beaches of Búzios and enjoyed it so much she stayed until mid April And keeping her promise, she authorized Denis Albanèse to release some 400 photos of her stay in Brazil.
From that visit and the media coverage that followed, global curiosity grew about a place that a world famous movie star so loved, she stayed much longer than planned. Indeed, Bardot came back later in 1964, in December, to celebrate Christmas in Búzios
In her honor, the municipality of Búzios commissioned local sculptress Christina Motta with creating a statue which now sits on the Orla Bardot. It’s a great likeness of Brigitte, sitting on her suitcase, hat in hand, and gazing out on the ocean.